Billing1 (866) 281-5737Customer Service(314) 768-6260

Rate Commission

The Rate Commission was established in 2000 through voter approved amendments to MSD’s Charter. The purpose of the Rate Commission is to provide public input into how MSD sets its rates. Per the voter approved amendments, the Rate Commission is required to review all rate proposals and render an opinion before said proposals are submitted to MSD’s Board of Trustees for approval. The Rate Commission consists of 15 member organizations that represent a broad cross-section of MSD customers and the community it serves. The Rate Commission’s proceedings may take up to 165 days from the date MSD staff submits a rate proposal for consideration.

Per the Charter change creating the Rate Commission, the rate setting process includes multiple public hearings held throughout the St. Louis metropolitan area where MSD customers have an opportunity to provide feedback on proposed rates.  Additionally, the deliberations of the Rate Commission are public meetings as well.

MSD FY2018 Rate Commission Roster 

Commission Delegates: Representing:
Paul Ziegler, Ed. Education Plus
Mickey Croyle The League of Women Voters
Paul Brockmann Missouri Botanical Garden
Gerald Beckmann St. Louis Council of Construction Consumers
Chan Mahanta North County Incorporated
Leonard Toenjes Associated General Contractors (AGC)
Brad Goss HBA
Lloyd Palans City of Ladue
Don Bresnan Greater St. Louis Labor Council
Tom Ratzki The Engineers’ Club of St. Louis
Kennard Jones Mound City Bar Association
John L. Stein Missouri Industrial Energy Consumers
Steve Mahfood Missouri Coalition for the Environment
Mark Schoedel Lutheran Senior Services
Russell Hawes St. Louis County Municipal League